Blaine Luetkemeyer Announces Retirement

Congressman Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO), announced on January 4 that he would not seek reelection this year, joining the growing list of lawmakers planning to retire or seek another office, the Associated Press reported.

The 71-year-old Luetkemeyer said in a January 4 statement that after “thoughtful discussion” with his family, he decided to retire when his term ends in December.

First elected in 2008, Leutkemeyer represents Missouri’s 3rd Congressional District which stretches from St. Louis’ western suburbs to Jefferson City and Columbia in central Missouri.

While Luetkemeyer only narrowly defeated Democrat challenger Judy Baker to first win the seat, he has won reelection by over 30 points in each subsequent race.

The Cook Political Report lists Missouri’s 3rd Congressional District as solidly Republican.

The state has moved decidedly red over the last two decades, with six of the state’s 8 congressional seats currently held by Republicans. Every statewide office in Missouri is also held by the GOP.

Just days after Leutkemeyer announced his retirement, on January 8, Indiana Republican Rep. Larry Bucshon announced that he would not seek reelection in 2024, bringing the total number of House members not seeking reelection to 38.

Thus far, 22 Democrat and 16 Republican House members will not be running in 2024. Of those, 9 Democrats and 3 Republicans are leaving to run for the US Senate. Meanwhile, Democrat Abigail Spanberger is running for Virginia governor.

In the US Senate, 5 Democrats and 2 Republicans have thus far announced that they won’t be running in 2024.

Republican Mitt Romney of Utah is retiring from public office while Indiana Republican Senator Mike Braun is leaving the Senate to run for Indiana Governor.

The five Senate Democrats retiring from office are West Virginia’s Joe Manchin, Debbie Stabenow of Michigan, Ben Cardin of Maryland, Delaware’s Tom Carper, and interim Senator Laphonza Butler who was appointed by California Governor Gavin Newsom to serve the remainder of the late Senator Dianne Feinstein’s term.